Uncategorized

New Attitude = New Plan

After last week’s post, I was ready to find my way out of the ditch I fell in to. The first step was, I got a good night’s sleep. The second step was, even though it was still dark out, even though I had to work in the afternoon, even though I was feeling down, I woke up before 5am and got myself out the door for 16 miles.

I feel like this one actually went pretty well. Nutrition felt right, I was in a good headspace, and even though I ended up doing the entire run on my own, I made it through.

week 10

My watch seems to be on the fritz and didn’t want to pick up a GPS signal, so I ran using MapMyWalk. The pacing seems rather generous, but I’m happy with the run overall.

I also ended up adjusting my training schedule to allow for more recovery after long runs. Early on, I was trying to add strength training on Monday mornings – either classes or workout DVDs (Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred). Then speed work on Tuesdays, hills on Wednesdays, and easy run on Thursdays, yoga on Fridays and a day off on Saturday before the long run.

After hitting 16 miles, I woke up sore and tired on Monday and knew that pushing it with strength training was not a good idea. My new attempt at a schedule is:

  • Monday – DOR
  • Tuesday – Strength
  • Wednesday – Hills
  • Thursday – Speed
  • Friday – Easy Run
  • Saturday – Yoga
  • Sunday – Long Run

Fridays and Saturdays are the hardest days to stick to a plan, but I am trying to stay committed and flexible.

Leave a comment