Erie Marathon Training: Weeks 11-13

Erie Marathon Training: Weeks 11-13

July 17-24
Let’s start off by saying – consistency is my biggest downfall and why I could never be a ‘real’ blogger. I love using this as my training journal, and like to try and stay organized, but I’m not entirely sure anyone ever reads this so… who cares how regularly I post?  Is it just runner’s naval gazing to write a blog in the first place? Who knows. But I’m putting it out there anyway, no matter how late it is!
Monday: Day off – I was sore from Sunday’s 16 miles, so I decided to reevaluate my training plan and move rest days to Mondays so I can recover from my longer runs.
Tuesday: Yoga DVD.
Wednesday:  5 miles before work. Wowzers that was a good run. Listened to a few podcasts and still made it to work on time. Win-win!
Thursday: Walking group @ work ~ 2 miles
Friday: Post work treadmill – speed work. It was HOT out, so I went to the gym for this one. I’m working with a Fartlek plan put out by my training group, which called for a 6 mile run with a pyramid of sprints: 1:00 sprint-1:00 rest, 2:00 sprint-2:00 rest, 3:00 sprint-3:00 rest, 3:00 sprint-3:00 rest, 2:00 sprint-2:00 rest, 1:00 sprint-1:00 rest. I did a total of 45 minutes, 4 miles but still got the speed work in. I find it really difficult to run at pace on treadmills so my warm ups and cool downs are often walking instead of running. Have I mentioned that I *really* don’t like the treadmill?
Saturday: DOR
Sunday:  18 miles. TBH, this was rough. It was one of the hottest days so far. I started at 6am, and took the pace much much slower, but it was really draining. So happy to get the miles done, but my knee was really bothering me by mile 14. My watch also died at Mile 13 which was frustrating!

Week 12 (July 25-July 31)
Monday: DOR
Tuesday: Strength – JM30Day Shred Level 2 – It’s not getting easier!
Wednesday:  5.2 miles of hill work. It was pretty terrible.
Thursday: Walking club
Friday: DOR – post work plans & a long morning run!
Saturday: 20.75 miles? 18.25 miles? Met a running buddy at Highbanks for our long run. Met at 6:30 and made our loops through the park. My phone had me over 20.75 and running buddy’s Garmin had us at 18.25. I called it a wash because it was tough terrain and a hot day. Happy to get my long run done early!
Sunday: Sort of DOR – A lot of walking to the State Fair.

Week 13 (August 1 – August 7)
Monday: Yoga
Tuesday:  5 ish mile run
Wednesday:  DOR – Lots of walking in Boston
Thursday: JM 30 Day Shred in my hotel room in Boston
Friday: 6 ish miles in Boston
Saturday: DOR – morning conference and a long flight home this afternoon
Sunday:  TBD – I’ve been out of town and walking like crazy! I have 15 miles on my plan, but I also have to work in the afternoon, so I might need an actual rest day!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

