Marathon Number Five is Done

On Sunday, April 9th, I completed the Athens Ohio Marathon (celebrating its 50th year!). I posted a finish time of 5:41:03 which is a couple minutes faster than Erie, but nowhere close to the 5:28:47 PR I have been trying to break.

17855309_10109457972364485_1877576229024352097_o

Did I train poorly? Start too fast? Start too slow? Not fuel properly? Not get enough sleep? Was it too hot? Should I have run more and walked less? Walked more and run less? I’ve decided to stop asking all of these questions, because I just don’t think there is an answer that will help me right now.

For whatever reason, from the time I woke up until a few hours after crossing the finish line, I felt nauseous. It didn’t feel like nerves, but it also didn’t feel like the flu. Maybe electrolytes were off, but like I said, I just don’t know. What I do know is that I had a hard time wanting to eat, and gels and blocks continued to turn my stomach.  Add to that the hot orange Gatorade at Mile 24, and it’s now wonder that I was pretty much gagging my way across the finish line.

Athens Finish Line

Athens Finish Line

So, meh, it wasn’t the race I wanted. And I’ve started questioning whether or not I want to pursue a new marathon PR, or give that long distance a rest.  I have a 50k coming up on May 20th, and I am really looking forward to it! It could be really warm that day too, or really rainy or muddy or all of the above. All I’m thinking of is that it’s a nice stroll through the woods!

Next on the horizon is the Chicago Marathon in October, which I will start training for in June!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

