Food & Fitness Plan 2016 Marathon Training Week 1

FIRST POST OF 2016. Yeah, I know. Majorly slacking here. I just finished up the Kentucky Derby Festival Mini Marathon on April 30. New Half Marathon PR of 2:27:27! I implemented a 5:1 run:walk interval, and felt great. Right now I have some knee pain, I am hoping that strength training will help with that this time around!

My next race is the Erie Marathon in Erie, PA. The race is on Sunday, September 11 and the course goes around Presque Isle. I am really looking forward to a clean slate and a new training plan!

Monday: Shredded chicken – using Honey Hot wing sauce
Tuesday: Steak Salad
Wednesday: Cheeseburger Casserole
Thursday: Volunteering (and eating) at Taste of Dine Originals
Friday: Heading to a launch party for the Columbus Ale Trail – a great booklet that encourages visits to breweries around Central Ohio. It’s at one of my favorite spots in town so we may grab a bite for Happy Hour
Saturday: TBD (Work 9-6)
Sunday: TBD (Work 12:3-5:30)

Fitness
Monday: Cardio Sculpt – new to me class at my gym Felt sick all morning – ended up fitting in 30 Day Shred L. 1 before work
Tuesday: Spin Class
Wednesday: Speedwork (?) with CRC & Yoga @ Balanced Yoga
Thursday: 3 Miles – A.M.
Friday: Yoga
Saturday: 2 Miles – before work
Sunday: 6 Miles

Strength Training

I am working on a combined training schedule, incorporating a Monday strength day and possibly starting speedwork on Tuesdays.  I have been really attached to my spin class, but I also want to mix things up a bit this time around. I know I want to get stronger and healthier this time around, so I am looking for the right combo for me.

I have also signed up for the Ragnar Trail Relay this September. I am on a team of 8 and we have varying experience on trails. I feel pretty uneasy on trails still, but there is a group of people heading out on Sundays so I am hoping to get miles in that way. I don’t want to let trail training get in the way of road training because I don’t want to worry about injury, so we’ll see what happens!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

