Pre-Race Prep

It’s been a CRAZY few weeks.  Last week, I ran 11 miles in Columbus, 4 miles in Cincinnati and 6 miles in Cleveland.  Between a really busy period at work, a presentation at a statewide conference, an out of town wedding and a houseguest, I have been fighting off a great sense of being overwhelmed. Every day has basically been just making it to the next day. And then I would remember one little thing… this MARATHON coming up.  But now I don’t wonder if being so distracted hasn’t helped.  I have my clothes laid out, I have my nutrition plan, I stuffed myself full of pasta last night, and I even have company for my first 13.  What I REALLY want to do is get my head in the game and not have a mental breakdown as I’m pretty sure is what destroyed me in Nashville.  The Columbus Marathon has introduced a Psyching Team, and I stopped by their booth at the expo. I picked up a list of pointers, and had a great talk with one of the team members.  She gave me a small piece of ribbon on a pin and said it was a piece of the actual Finish Line Ribbon.  The only rule on race day is that it has to cross the finish line.  She suggested attaching a mantra or catch phrase to the ribbon so I could associate it with positive thoughts to get me through hard moments.  I love this idea!

I’m as ready as I’ll ever be, so here are some shots from the last few weeks as I get myself race-ready.

From our stay in Cleveland - a reminder to appreciate these moments.

Appreciate quiet moments

My next struggle - tame the marathon weight-gain beast. Up 4lbs this session.

My next struggle – tame the marathon weight-gain beast. Up 4lbs this session.


bib

number three is still scary


expo

Columbus has one of the better expos!


happiness

next goal… working on this!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

