Columbus Marathon Training Weeks 11 & 12

Columbus Marathon Training: Weeks 11-12

Week 11 August 24-August 30, 2015
Monday: First day of vacation! Took it easy, but I did walk to my eye dr’s appointment! I miss just… walking to places.
Tuesday: Spin class & two mile dog walk
Wednesday: 8 miles total, 6 miles running and 2 miles walking at one of our hilliest spots
Thursday: 2 mile dog walk
Friday: Yoga DVD before our road trip
Saturday: 18 mile run at the lovely Presque Isle State Park in Erie, PA. I am really proud of this one, I’ve never had to run 18 on my own before.  I was out by 7:30am, beat most of the really hot weather, and absolutely loved the scenery.

Sunrise on Presque Isle

Sunrise on Presque Isle

These feet took me 18 miles!

These feet took me 18 miles!

Sunday: DOR but we took Roxie for a walk before we drove back to Ohio.  Our girl had some ups and downs during her first trip away, but I’m glad we were able to bring her with us to visit!

Week 12 August 31-September 6, 2015
Monday: 2 mile dog walk
Tuesday: Spin class. So. Incredibly. Sweaty.
Wednesday: DOR – I really think I hit the wall this week.
Thursday: DOR – I came right home because we were having some thunderstorms. An already anxious dog, during a thunderstorm is a whole lot to handle. The poor thing was shaking like a leaf.  I spent a lot of time pacing around the house with her…
Friday: 3ish mile run. I waited WAY too long in the heat and this run was a killer.  It was very sluggish, but I tried to get hills in despite the heat.
Saturday: DOR . I worked Saturday, but I was early so I had enough time to walk a lap around a park close to my job.  It’s the little things.
Sunday: 20 miles done!  We started around 7:15 and the run took me four hours and fifteen minutes.  It was hot, I slowed way down in my pace, but I am always impressed when those 20 milers are over. I don’t know if they will ever get easier, but I did feel somewhat prepared.  Here is what I need to keep in mind over the next few weeks of training!

I only need to worry about me - being a decent human being!

I only need to worry about me!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

