Back to Basics: Good Health Guidelines

Well hello there!  Are you surviving the holiday season?  I was doing great with my health and fitness until sometime mid-December.  Then, my will power gave out, and I planted face first in to a plate of holiday cookies, only to resurface last night with a headache and extra tight jeans.

It’s hard to find balance over the holidays, and when I started skipping my Weight Watchers meetings because I was “too busy”, I knew I was on a slippery slope.  I’m afraid to step back on the scale, and I’m frustrated because my weigh-in chart is a steady climb instead of a steady plummet.  What this really means is, it’s time to get back to basics.

christmas eve run

christmas eve run!

My focus going in to the New Year is to spend January getting back to my Good Health Guidelines and using those to plan my meal choices.  I want to get back to mindfully eating and tracking, and I think this is a great way to start.  Sitting on my “to read pile” next to my bed is Savor by Thich Nhat Hanh.  This is the first of many building blocks I want to use to make better decisions…  with AWARENESS when it comes to what I am eating.

The Good Health Guidelines are a great foundation set up by Weight Watchers to guide members towards making healthy decisions.  There are 8 Good Health Guidelines (or GHGs as they are affectionately known in my mind) and they are as follows:

The Good Health Guidelines
1. Eat at least five servings of vegetables and fruits each day, (nine servings if you weigh over 350 pounds.)
2. Choose whole-grain foods, such as brown rice and oats, whenever possible.
3. Include two servings of milk products – low fat (1%) or fat-free – each day. If you’re a nursing mom, teenager, over 50 years old, or weigh more than 250 pounds, you should have three servings of milk products each day.
4. Have 2 teaspoons of healthy oils (olive oil, canola, sunflower, safflower or flaxseed) each day.
5. Ensure that you are getting enough protein by choosing at least a serving or two of lean meats, skinless poultry, fish, beans, soy products, and lentils.
6. Limit added sugar and alcohol.
7. Drink at least 6 8-ounce glasses of liquid a day. Water is the best choice.
8. Take a multiple vitamin-mineral supplement each day.
(courtesy Weight Watchers.com)

When I was really on plan, these were my keys to success. It’s always the first thing a leader will ask you when you’re seeing unexplained gains at the scale. Unfortunately, my gains are NOT unexplained. I can easily tell you what is going on…  Lack of attention, lack of activity, and an abundance of snacks everywhere I turn my head!  I am going to focus on integrating these guidelines back in to my day to day routine with one focus every week.  Baby steps, people…  baby steps!

Getting back to the basics, focusing on my GHGs, and reading up on mindfulness are how I want to get my 2015 started on the right foot.  I have also started training for the Rock and Roll Marathon in Nashville on April 25, 2015!  What are you doing to get started out right for the new year?

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

