Race Recap: Hot Chocolate 15k

Hot Chocolate 15k.  Race #39.  15k #1.  Time 1:46:00

What a FUN race!  The Hot Chocolate Series has been on my radar for a long time, but I finally took the plunge to run my first 15k distance with this one.  This was also a run were a lot of my coworkers were running, we got a library team together and a few of them were running their first race!  I was the only person from our group doing the 15k, and the only one who had to work later that day, so I didn’t get to see them before the race, but I know everyone had a great day 🙂

Pre-race! Brrrrrrrrr

 

For this race, I also volunteered at the Expo.  Because this race has such a big draw, the Expo is HUGE.  I volunteered at bib pick up last year but didn’t run, so this year I decided to do it again and pick up my co-workers’ bibs too.  I was at the hoodie try-on station this year, and let me tell ya, it was a little hectic.  In the goodie bag, everyone got either a green or a pink hoodie.  The stations let you try your jacket on before you opened it, because if it was opened, there were no exchanges allowed….  But the goodie bag swap also did not have many extra sizes, so trying it on was pretty futile.  There were a lot of frustrated runners at this station, and it was a great reminder to be nice to your volunteers!  (Some people just were not!)

Race day was one of the colder days we’ve had so far this year.  There was definitely snow, and I definitely had a trash bag for warmth.  This was my first time going the trash bag route… this was a stretchy bag with odor blockers, so I couldn’t move my arms and I smelled like Febreeze.  Maybe next time, I’ll investigate a new type of trash bag 🙂

On to the start line… and confession time.  I did something that I know race organizers hate… and I jumped (a lot of) corrals.  In my defense, I definitely wasn’t the only person doing it, it was freezing cold, and I had to get to work.  The corrals were released in waves with the first group going at 7:30 and the last group going at 8:05.  I filled in with the crowd and started my race at 7:45.

The course for this was great, we started in Downtown Columbus, ran up High Street and to OSU Campus.  This was a lot of fun, and we ran past Ohio Stadium which is always a great thrill during football season!  The stadium was also about the halfway point for the race, so it was nice to get a quick boost of motivation.

We headed south and back towards Downtown and got to run through a lot of neighborhoods that I don’t usually get to see on foot.  Of course, as we reach Goodale park and there was less than a mile left, I started wondering why I didn’t just run THROUGH the park instead of around it, but kept going and finished strong.  Part of the desire to cut it short was that I was getting really cold.

Finished up in a great time too.  My main goal was to finish in under 2 hours, so I was really happy with my time of 1:46.  Then on to the main point of this race!  THE CHOCOLATE!  They had a lot of volunteers here handing out cute mugs of melted chocolate with cookies, bananas, crackers and pretzels to dip in the chocolate.  There was also hot chocolate and samples of LUNA bars.  And a great boyfriend waiting with my coat and the finish line photo.

10342762_10105224907006395_6052754351715765311_nIt was cold, it was crowded, it was fun, and it was worth the chocolate!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

