Not Perfect… Just Me!

I have spent a lot of time trying to be mindful and kind.  I really try to listen, to process, and to offer the best help I can to those around me.  It is my philosophy, and is particularly useful in my profession where listening is a huge part of the job.  (No, being a librarian is not all about reading books… it is all about helping connect people to a world of information around them, and how else can I do this without listening to them?!)

Today (after a good long while of thinking about it), I realize that I need to listen and process my own thoughts and feelings too.  In my weight loss journey, which has hit a bit of a road bump recently, I have tried to spend time getting to know myself better.  What are my limits?  Can I work past them?  What goals do I want to set for my future, and how am I going to evaluate them?  I am ASKING but I don’t know if I’m LISTENING!

In a continued effort to meet new people, expand my running community, and stay accountable, I joined something called The Movement.  This is run by our local Fleet Feet, and is a weight loss challenge that provides community support, weekly weigh-ins, prize incentives and group walks.  I joined to keep myself accountable over the holiday season, along with my weekly Weight Watchers meetings.  For a few weeks, I was attending their Core workout classes on Sunday mornings as well.

Today, I was feeling sorta under the weather, and stayed in bed a few extra hours before getting myself moving.  Those extra hours meant skipping the morning workout, not joining my other running group for their morning run, and then getting up for work.  But I did go to my weigh in.  I talked to the coach a bit, after my weigh in was a gain.  In fact, I am up 0.8lbs from where I started in October. I started on a litany of reasons… “I’m really off my game this week, I had a lot going on. I didn’t work out as much as I wanted.  I am in a rut.  I have no idea what’s going on.  I just slept in today.”  These things were just pouring out of my mouth.  And she smiled and said… “Sometimes, you need to sleep.”

Yes.  Yes, that is exactly right.  I needed to hear that today.  That it’s okay to sleep.  That a huge part of my journey is learning flexibility and forgiveness.  And remembering that forgiveness is one thing, and making excuses is another.

To recap my week, I had an odd work week, I had to pick my car up from the garage, I worked over the weekend, and had a gain at both my weight watchers and my movement weigh ins.  I also went to a great new taco restaurant, an excellent new local healthy fast food cafe, visited my favorite beer shop and saw a fantastic concert. It was a great week, and next week will be another where I work on listening to myself, and practicing self-forgiveness.

Let’s make it a… POSITIVE WEEK!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not Perfect… Just Me!

  1. Pingback: Food and Fitness Plan Week 15 | Running makes me ____________!

Leave a Reply

