I Lost What…

SO, there is this calculator, which shows you the equivalent of the amount of weight you lost, in terms of a household item or common thing that you can visualize. You type in the amount of weight and get something like this:

48

I Lost What weight loss Calculator powered by ViSalus™.

48lbs!  The same as small dryer!  Lester Nygaard knows what I’m talkin’ about.  That’s something to be proud of.

So why is it giving me pause today?  Because I wrote a post 2 years ago about what it meant to lose 50lbs.  It was amazing, a huge accomplishment, and I was am very proud.  My starting weight will always be my benchmark, so to see the total loss go back in to the 40s instead of the 50s, and see a decade on the scale I always wanted to leave behind, that has been a huge wake up call.  And something I want to stop dwelling on and start acting on.

Frankly, after 2 years of maintenance, planning, and flexibility, I have forgotten what it means to lose weight, to be in the “mode” of weight loss.  THAT is what I’m looking for, and accountability is really what is lacking.  The Food & Fitness plans are helping me plan, and I think that recapping my week to see how I stuck to those plans is a good next step!

In other news, my most recent Weight Watchers meetings have been cancelled.  😦  I have an odd schedule where I work Monday and Tuesday afternoons & evenings, Wednesday and Thursday mornings & afternoons, and my weekends are all over the place.  Some weekends I work Saturday and Sunday, and have Friday off, some weekends I just work Saturdays and have Fridays and Sundays off, and some weekends I work Fridays and have the whole weekend off.  When you get in to switching shifts, it becomes an inconsistent schedule, so I try very hard not to attend meetings on those days.  First, I attended a 9:30am meeting on Tuesdays.  I did not feel any connection to the leader, and the members were all older retired women.  That meeting got cancelled.  I started attending another meeting at 9:30am on Tuesdays.  I liked the leader, but the members were all stay at home mothers.  That meeting got cancelled.  I started attending another meeting at 6:00pm on Thursdays.  I immediately liked the leader, and half the members were around my age.  I felt very good about this meeting.  And found out last week that it is being “consolidated” with another meeting at (the retired women) Weight Watchers Center a few miles away.   These few miles mean a lot more during my rush hour commute, not to mention the fact that my old meeting location was just down the street from my gym, where I attended yoga after every meeting.  I am very much a creature of habit, and I the lack of consistency is really testing my resolve.  I understand that Weight Watchers is a business first, and that when a meeting’s attendance drops, they want to maximize their returns, so consolidation makes logical sense.  But it has put some bumps in my maintenance because I feel unanchored.  I certainly can’t blame everything on the meetings, but it is certainly a factor.

In training news, things are going better.  I have been more consistent in the past few weeks with my spin classes, trying to do yoga, and I made it back to a speed workout last week.  That all added up to a better run on Sunday morning.  Isn’t it incredible that a 9 mile run can feel awful, while 11 feels like a warmup?  That was yesterday.  Waking up in the mornings will always be a struggle, but yesterday I was rewarded with this:

10476624_10104978247888245_7706178403112662123_n

Those are my thoughts for now.  Let’s make this…. A POSITIVE WEEK!

 

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

