Thirty Weeks (or Twenty Five)

As you may have seen in this post, I moved this summer.

It was basically a slow-quick-quick dance step getting here…

July 2012: Mom’s sick, I want to be home.
December 2012: Heading back to Chicago, really don’t want to leave after the Holidays.
February 2013: Apply for a job. Wait. Wait. Wait.
April 2013: Skype interview for said job. Wait. Wait. Wait. Adopt kittens.

601095_10103030464666435_426802219_n
June 2013: Second interview for said job. Lease renewal pending. Still have kittens. Pins and needles.
June 25, 2013: JOB OFFER EXTENDED AND ACCEPTED!
July 12, 2013: Leave old job.
July 21, 2013: Leave Chicago.

1070017_10100462876573917_354096109_n
July 29, 2013: Start new job.
November 4, 2013: Decide to start 30 Week Training Program for The Cincinnati Flying Pig Marathon.

Maybe you want to know what happened between July and November.  Well, a lot has happened.  I have found myself completely head over heels…  For my job, for my city, for all that life has sent my way.  I’ve run a couple of races (some day I might even recap them!), I’ve had incredible meals, I’ve had family time, I’ve been back to Chicago, I’ve missed my friends, I’ve made new friends, I’ve connected with old friends.  But through a lot of this, I feel like I need a new anchor.

I continue to track my Points.  I write them down, every day, but I consistently go over my goal.  Daily, Weekly, AND Activity.  I plug in my ActiveLink every few days, and I’m consistenly under my Activity Point goal.  After about two years of laser focus, and a few months of maintenance, this move, something in this move has got me unmoored.  I am willing to take it slow, but I really want it back.

I have decided, in all this, to set that laser focus on one terrifying, overwhelming, and completely acheivable goal…. To cross the finish line of a full marathon before I turn 35.  So, bring on Hal Higdon’s Novice Supreme Marathon Training Schedule.  I know I only have I’m not technically a novice.  I have six half marathons, which means I’ve run three full marathons, right?!  But this schedule does not feel horribly overwhelming to me.  It is something I can fit in as best I can, and something to keep me running and cross training through the winter.  Schedules and plans WORK for me.  And I’m hoping they help me get back to some sort of focus on the big picture.

1385185_10151774406502099_896238591_n

And it is no small thing to point out….  I am so incredibly happy these days, that this unanchored eating/lack of exercise routine is the only thing bringin’ me down, and right now, it is on the turn around.

1010864_10103255788131405_1995169250_n

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

