Monday Eats (or why I’ll never be a food blogger)

Monday Monday Monday.  Monday is my late day at work, so I usually enjoy a leisurely morning.  This Monday might have been too leisurely, or maybe not leisurely enough.  I felt strange when I woke up Monday morning, around 8:00.  Scratchy throat, a little dizzy, and this strange sensation like someone was pushing full force on my shoulders, pressing my whole body down.  In a sense, I just didn’t feel…. right.

I chalked it up to “Mondays” and got my day started.  I will never be a food blogger because I keep forgetting to take lovely arty pictures of my eats, which has been defeating the purpose, but oh well.  I still want to let you know what I’ve been eating and how the grocery dollar is stretching!

Breakfast 6PPs

1/2 cup Quick Oats 4PPs
1 cup unsweetened almond milk 1PPs
Frozen mango 0PPs
1 tbsp maple syrup 1PPs
My very favorite Rachel Ray inspired Bombay Breakfast!
All ingredients for this were from the pantry/freezer.

Commuting Snack 2PPs

1 cup unsweetened almond milk 1PPs
1 tbsp slivered almonds 1PPs
1/2 banana 0PPs
1/2 cup frozen peaches 0PPs
2-3 drops almond extract 0PPs
From the pantry/fridge: almond milk, almonds, peaches
From the grocery list: banana

Lunch 9PPs

1/2 cup cooked brown rice 3PPs
1 serving cauliflower chick pea curry 6PPs
This chickpea curry was something I made when I had a head of cauliflower to get rid of. It was not my favorite recipe, and oddly no matter how much curry powder I added, it still tasted bland. This was a selection from the freezer, with the rice coming from the grocery trip.

Dinner 9PPs

2 Servings Black bean filling 4PPs
2 corn tortillas 3PPs
1/2 avocado 2PPs
All of this was a product of the Sunday prep, Black Bean Flautas. The tortillas stayed crispy which was surprising.

Snacks (you may not want to look here) 14PPs

Dunkin Donuts Cinnamon Cake Donut 10PPs <–yes, that's right, TEN.
Mini Milky Way candy bars x4 4PPs
Obviously, neither of these were from my pantry or my grocery trip. They were from the candy basket at work, and the lovingly purchased and shared dozen donuts. My will power has been low recently, but add on to that feeling not-so-hot, and you have moments where donuts are the only answer (but they’re really not).
So, most food was from the pantry/freezer/grocery, and what wasn’t came from work!
No pictures, but you know what a meltdown in the shape of a donut looks like, so I’ll spare you.

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

