Step inside my kitchen!

Today is grocery day!  I love love love grocery shopping.  I love making lists, and planning meals and trying new recipes.  I love finding deals, and I love clipping coupons.  The turning point in my healthy eating changes came when I fully realized that planning was my key to success.  This week, I’m going to try and share some meals, recipes and plans based on today’s grocery trip!

I mentioned to a friend of a friend last week that I spend $50 a week on groceries, just for myself.  She said that sounded really high, so I thought I would break it down.

Meat Free!

Meat Free!

I have also decided to go meat free for Lent. I am still leaving the option open to fish and other seafood, but so far I have been meat free since Wednesday. I don’t eat a lot of meat anyway, but there are certainly times when packaged lunch meat has been my “go to” meal. Time to put my culinary thinking cap on!

My Grocery List:
Produce
Snow peas $2.99
Jalapeno pepper $.05
Zucchini $0.80
Bananas $1.46
Apples $1.10
Cucumber $0.69
Radishes $1.49
Avocados $1.00
Kale $1.98
Clementines $3.98 (Bought @ produce store… $2.99 at grocery)
Mini Sweet Peppers $2.98
Canned & bottled
Black beans (x3) $2.67
Green chiles $0.99
Low sodium soy sauce $2.99
Dry goods
BetterOats Oat Fit Oatmeal $1.25
Instant brown rice $2.55
Dairy, etc.
100 calorie yogurts (x3) $3.00
Cheese (reduced fat cheddar & pepper jack) $5.30
Tofu $1.99
Fresh tortillas $0.45
Frozen
Morningstar Farms Veggie patties (x3) $11.97

Coupons used this trip: $2.55
Coupons earned for future trips: $3.00 plus free carrots!
Grocery store total w/tax: $33.94
Produce store total w/tax: $16.34
Weekly total (2.16-2.22): $50.28

Meatless meal ideas: veggie/tofu stir fry, black bean flautas, kale & black bean salads.
Unpictured items include: frozen portabella ravioli, peanut butter, bread, apple sauce, cauliflower curry, farro, quinoa, quick oats, canned tuna, pasta sauce.

I’m looking forward to sharing this week with you!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

