Race Recap: Frank Lloyd Wright Races

Sunday 10/21 ~ Frank Lloyd Wright Races 10k

Time: 1:06:07 ~ 5k  10:39/mile pace.

Fall running is my FAVORITE!  Really beautiful weather for this run.  The race is organized by the Park District of Oak Park, which is where Frank Lloyd Wright designed several homes and had his design studio.  The race is a street race, and both the 5k and 10k routes take you past the Wright Home & Studio.  There are several other gorgeous homes in the neighborhood, so this is one of my favorite courses!

I was a part of a group of runners from my graduate school, and we got together for a photo before the 5k started, so it was an EARLY morning!  I had a friend running the 5k and a few others coming to watch and offer moral support, and they were nice enough to drive…  so it was a 6:30a.m. start to the day!

Frank Lloyd Wright Dominican Group

Group shot!

The 5k started, and we had some time to browse the swag.  Came away with a pretty amazing haul, it was impressive.  Then we headed to the finish line to watch the elites finish up.  (First man across the finish line clocked a 16:17 time.  WOWZERS.)  Headed to the starting line and started feeling WAY jittery.

It was a little chilly, probably around 50 degrees, but I was really trembling.  I don’t know if it was nerves, or jumbly tummy or what was going on, but I started off really not feeling well!  It was kinda scary, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to start.  But with a view like this, I was willing to at least try:

Start Line

Start Line

Once the run started, I did feel better, but it was so weird!  The course was full of views like this.  I started towards the front of the pack, and took the first mile to try and find a rhythm.  I tend to struggle with starting too fast, so I wanted to pace myself on this run.

One of the things that really kept me going, aside from the views, the great course and the cheering neighbors, was the playlist I made.  Has a great flow, times out really nicely and it kept me going!  I was in my head a lot.  Mile one… IT’S JUST ONE MILE?  Mile two…  ugh, four to go.  THEN I fell in to my zone, and started to feel really great.

I brought a gel with me, and decided to have it at the halfway point, but didn’t really need it.  I mostly had it because I was bored.  It warmed up a bit, so I was trying to be sure I stayed hydrated, and stopped at every water stop.  At mile 5 I also grabbed my phone to let my friends know I was on my way!  I noticed by the mileage clocks that my splits were between 10:30-11:00 so I was feeling pretty good about my time.

At one point, I turned a corner, and was SURE that the finish line was right there.  It wasn’t.  It wasn’t even close…  I would say that for the last half mile, I kept expecting the race to be over, so then I was back in my head…  Is it over?  Is it over?  When can I stop running?  But you can’t tell by this look…

Really, I was happy to be almost finished…

And here we are at the Finish Line:

Finish Line!

My initial goal was to finish under 1:05, but I am still very happy with my time!  Next race coming up…  TURKEY TROT!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

