Sunday Cooking: Crockpot Chili

Chili is just…. the greatest.  I love it.  I love Cincinatti chili, I love Tex Mex chili, I love spicy Chili, tofu chili, and I love perfecting my recipe.

I apologize to who ever I am stealing borrowing this recipe from, but I can’t recall where the original came from.  But I made it enough of my own that I feel perfectly comfortable sharing it with all of you…

3 Bean Crockpot Chili
(If  you’re using chili beans and kidney beans, are they the same bean?  These questions keep me up at night…  If you say yes, than consider this TWO bean chili.)

1/2 white onion, chopped
1 can diced fire roasted tomatoes
1 can diced tomatoes with chilis
1 can black beans, rinsed
1 can kidney beans, rinsed
1 can chili beans, NOT rinsed (use all that good stuff!)
1 envelope spicy chili seasoning
1/2 to 3/4 lb lean ground beef (90%-96% lean)

Brown the ground beef until cooked through.  Drain fat and add to crockpot.

Add tomatoes, onions and seasoning.  Stir.

Rinse the black beans and kidney beans and add to the pot.  Add chili beans, and up to 1 can of water if you want to thin the chili out.

Stir to combine, and cook in crockpot on low 7-9 hours.

What is it about this that tastes SO good?  I can’t answer that question.  It just DOES.  It’s hearty, it’s spicy, it just…  worked.

Thoughts: I went for the most inexpensive lean beef I could, which turned out to be about 3/4ths a pound of ground sirloin.  You can use what ever amount of beef you want, I wouldn’t go more than a pound, and know that whatever you do use can affect PP values if you are following Weight Watchers.

As for the chili seasoning, I used an envelope of spicy seasoning because I had it in the cupboard.  Same with the chili beans, they were already there.  Use what ever beans you have handy, I’m sure they will be fine!

Finally, serving sizes.  This ended up making roughly 9 cups.  Again, this depends on whether or not you add water, and how much water.  I said mine was 9 servings, and that averaged out to 4PPs per serving.

Happy (Slow) Cooking!

 

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Cooking: Crockpot Chili

  1. noodle21 says:

    I am glad someone else likes chili as much as I do. October is national chili month, so I am currently on a mission to make us much chili as possible this month. Today I am making chili over everything!

Leave a Reply

