Planning, pt. 2

Over the past few weeks, possibly because I have reached my goal, I have been a prepping, planning machine.  I am making time to shop, freezing leftovers, and still keeping variety in my meals.  This has led me to believe that perhaps 99% of healthy eating is mastering the ability to keep a well stocked kitchen and pantry.  Today’s example:

Image

Impromptu Garden Frittata
1tsp olive oil
1/4 cup diced onion
1 cup fresh spinach
1/2 cup chopped tomatoes
2 eggs
1-2 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
1oz shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 425°
Sautee onions in olive oil, 5-7 minutes
Add spinach to pan, cover and reduce heat to low
Allow spinach to wilt down

Crack 2 eggs into a small bowl, and add almond milk
Season with salt and pepper

Spray medium sized skillet with no-stick cooking spray
Add spinach/onion mixture
Add tomatoes and spread evenly on bottom of skillet
Pour eggs over mixture, stir to cover bottom of skillet

Top with cheese
Bake 12-15 minutes until eggs are set

Frittatas are great because you can put ANY vegetable in that you have on hand.  I had a lot of stuff that I wanted to use up, so I threw this little recipe together.  I also ended up having whole wheat toast with an AMAZING curried lentil spread that I ordered from Fresh Picks, a great organic produce delivery company.  They have been keeping me really happy with food recently!

What foods do you keep on hand to stay successful?

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

