Summer 6 Series: Run #1

Date: Tuesday, July 10

Location: Goose Island Wrigleyville

Distance: 3 miles

Time: 30 minutes

CARA Six Summer NightsI have decided that no matter how much I want to be a turtle, and hide in my shell, I am much better off as a social runner.  And thankfully, the Chicago Area Runner’s Association is here to help me with that!  I decided to sign up for their Six Summer Nights Series, and if the first run was any indication, I think I will be joining all the Sixes this year.  Tuesday was so much fun.

The first meeting was in Wrigleyville, at the Goose Island Brewpub on Clark.  We all gathered together and waited til 6:30, and then each group was sent out according to mileage with a group leader.  I decided to start with 3 miles this week, feeling a little sluggish.

Met all new folks there, and ran with someone who paces with the marathon group.  As a pretty solid 11:30 runner, I knew we were going faster than I was used to, but when we got back it turns out we averaged 10:00 min miles.  I certainly don’t think that is a pace I could sustain for longer runs, but it was fun to keep up with someone new!

Headed back to the bar, had a decent spread of appetizers, plus a free beer ticket. The raffle was great too, lots of race and promo gear, entry to a few races, and guess who went home with this little gem:

Lakefront Mile Marker

Lakefront Mile Marker

Yep, I made it home with the 2.5 Mile Marker (which I think is somewhere around Irving Park).  Had a good run, but an even better social time!  Next week: Navy Pier.  Hoping to be up for a 4 mile run!

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer 6 Series: Run #1

  1. Pingback: Frank Lloyd Wright Races Week Three Training ~ Recap « Running makes me ____________!

Leave a Reply

