Making breakthroughs

I have hit the dreaded PLATEAU!  Let’s take a look at 2011:

2011

March-December 2011

And now let’s take a look at 2012:

2012

January-May 2012

From the beginning of March to the end of December, I lost 50.6 lbs.  It was… MONUMENTAL.  I am incredibly proud, and pretty astonished by it, to be honest.  I’ve been running, staying generally active, and treating myself so much better.

However, right now I am at a stagnant point.  As you can see from the photo, basically around February until right now, that progress line is pretty much a straight line.  What is otherwise known as a plateau.  I know it’s not a new phenomenon, it happens to a lot of people, and it is to be expected.  I also know that since January, I have run 2 1/2 Marathons and tracked endless more training miles.  I have kept myself going physically.  It’s the food (and drink) that has started to slip.

This slip is justifiable by saying, “well, I’m eating much better than I used to.”  But that’s not really going to cut it.  I am 4.6lbs from my goal, and when I reach that goal I will have lost 61.4lbs.  I need to find the perfect balance between strict rigidity, and knowing the correct moments to indulge, or celebrate.  This week I have already felt much better about the choices I’ve made, and the planning I’ve done for the long weekend to come.  When I need motivation, this has been helpful:

Before and After

August 2012 – May 2012

Powerful, right?  It is for me.  I distinctly remember that photo on the left.  I was at a wedding.  It was over 90 degrees.  When I went to get ready in my stifling apartment, I put on the dress I wanted to wear, and it wouldn’t zip.  What I have on, that was the only remotely dressy thing I could find that fit me.  By the summer of 2010, I was ready to go up another size in clothes.  Now, it is not really in my nature to say “I can’t believe I let myself get that bad” or “Ugh, I am not even that same person anymore!” because it’s not entirely true.  I was happy-ish, but I was NOT healthy.  I had just finished grad school, and was getting ready to move into what is still be best apartment I’ve ever lived in.  I had just started my “grown up” job.  And by the following March, I had just run out of excuses, and patience.  So I joined, and…  here we are!

I don’t want this summer to be about those last 4lbs.  I want this summer to be about early morning runs, fresh food from the farmers markets, walks on the lakefront, yoga in the park, and enjoying my 33rd birthday with my friends and family!  Of course, I am ready now to stay focused on myself and committed to my exercise schedule, but I want to keep this up for 33 more years.  I want this to be live-able.  Forever!

What did you do when you hit a plateau?

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Making breakthroughs

  1. John Keogh says:

    I am in awe of what you’ve accomplished! You’re amazing!

    The plateau might not be about food and drink. As you change the way you eat – and particularly your activity level! – your body’s metabolism changes. The plateau might just be your body settling in and getting used to this new way of doing things. I know lots of people who rigorously keep up diet & exercise and still hit a plateau every couple years.

    You’ll get through it. It’s really good that you’re not just about the numeric goal – long-term, the desire to be healthy and feel good is what gives you the motivation to keep this up! It sounds like you’re transitioning from a weight-loss regimen to a substantial lifestyle change. That’s impressive. Go you! 🙂

  2. Nikki H. says:

    I lost 20 lbs on weight watchers last year and got to my goal weight. Then I actually got 7 lbs under my goal weight, which I liked much better. Then in December I went on a cruise and gained the 7 pounds back. And for some reason no matter how much I run, it seems I cannot take them off again. Even though my “lifetime member” status isn’t in jeopardy, for some reason it’s still is important in my mind to get back down to that weight.
    The point of all this is, I know a little bit of what you’re going through, but you have already done way more than I ever did in the amount of weight you lost, so you already are awesome. The challenge is making the plan livable and keeping a balanced view of your body. I’m still not completely there because even though I’ve been basically maintaining my weight for a year, as soon as I take a week off tracking I gain weight. WW works, it just takes commitment and stick-to-it-iveness.

  3. kkc1 says:

    Katy Hite I am so proud of you! You look phenomenal!! Those last few pounds WILL come off – you are right, though, don’t make your summer about hitting goal, but just do what you have been doing and you will get there. It isn’t a race. It took me 4 or so months to lose the last few pounds needed to hit goal. Try doing something completely different for a week or two – it worked for me and I have heard a lot of people have done that. It is worth a try.

    Very proud of you.

  4. pint0joe says:

    Thank you all so much for your kind words and encouragement! This is what I love about my journey, everyone has been so supportive, and I know that when I hit a slump, there are plenty of fine folks out there that I can vent to. 🙂

  5. I just stumbled on this while searching for an image online. But I stopped and read it and it reinvigorated me to get a move on. I too have just finished school (I have a theatre degree, and just got a diploma in radio… my version of grad school) and I too have just gotten my first grown up job and moved into a new apartment. I have been making little changes to my diet and activity level and trying to settled in. You’re post reminded me what is possible by real people living in the real world in one year. Or less. I hope you have a wonderful summer- that you reach your goal, but also that you get to enjoy this summer in a new way… as the new you.

Leave a Reply

