Capital City Half Marathon Training: Week 5

3.12-3.18.  I guess the middle is where it gets difficult difficult lemon difficult…

Monday = Did not get a run in today.  Completely hectic and sadly I was also attending a funeral for a friend’s grandmother.  Just feeling totally frazzled.  Ended up changing my flight, so I headed back to Chicago Tuesday instead of Monday.
Tuesday = Normally I would call this “old school” but I wasn’t a runner back in the day…  So, new old school?  Ran to my high school, did a mile around the track, then channeled my inner Tim Riggins and ran the steps at the stadium.  Granted, I did not go to Dillon, so my stadium was much smaller.  Anyway, continued through the neighborhood, about a 3 mile day.
Wednesday = Gorgeous day for a run.  Originally I was planning on a trip to Fleet Feet for a Chick’s Night Run.  Brought all my running gear with me, and got back in to things at work after a crazy weekend at home.  It ended up being 80° when I got off work, so I decided on a lake front run home.  Today’s goal was 7 miles, which honestly seems pretty quick.  I had my REI bag with me.  I made it about 1.5 miles and I wanted to CRY.  Such a beautiful day, and I was just not having a good run.  In fact, it was terrible.  I ran/walked for 4 miles, but knew I would not be making it the full 7 today.  My right knee was bothering me, I was hot, my bag felt like it weighed a million pounds, I just felt EXHAUSTED.  Came home, had dinner, showered and used the foam roller then off to bed.  Also ended up with a huge blister on my right heel.  I am guessing this is a result of the new shoes I wore to work!  What. A. Day!
Weigh In Wednesday 3.7.12: -1.4 LOWEST SCALE NUMBER TO DATE!
Thursday = Ended up doing yoga this morning, just needed to take it easy and stretch today.
Friday = Elliptical.  I popped in to the gym and did 25 minutes on the elliptical.  I ended up making an appointment to talk to a PT about my knee, it wasn’t hurting too bad, but I figured better safe than sorry.  Elliptical felt fine, and I got in some good stretches afterwards.
Saturday = What a difference a pace leader makes…  Holy cow was this a good run for me.  7 miles with the group, we averaged exactly 11:30 pace and it was a warm one.  Probably 75 when we were finished.  Almost every body in the group said they had at least one terrible run this week, and that it is true that your body takes just as much time to adjust to warm weather as it does to cold.  It really made me feel so much better.  The pace felt right, the group was friendly, I was able to start off not talking, which I pretty much prefer, and it was all in all a great day.  Need to get some new shorts and warm weather gear now!
Sunday = Once I drag myself off the couch, it’s time to enjoy this GORGEOUS day.  Planning on a walk to the gym, then 30-40 minutes on the elliptical, some weights, then groceries and errands the rest of the day.

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

