Half Marathon Training: Week 6

12.12-12.18 Sixth week of training = (almost) Done!

Monday = Good 4 mile run outside.   Same 4 mile path, needed the run before the Steppenwolf Holiday party!  Was a great time there, then a long night at work.
Tuesday = Sick day…  Blech.  Had a bad headache after a late night at work on Monday, so stayed home and rested all day.
Wednesday = Odd day.  A great friend’s father passed away, so I left work to be with her.  Had a few glasses of wine, so to get in to running that evening was difficult.  Ended up running 1 mile to the gym then doing 2.7 (30 minutes) on the TM.
Weigh In Wednesday 12.14.11: -3.2 (0.8 away from -50lbs!)
Thursday = Strength and Stretch.  Ended up having to go pick up my race packet after work, and it took longer than I thought it would.  Got home and quickly changed for yoga.  Watched the bus drive right past my stop before I could get there.  Did not make it to the gym.  Ended up doing my Yoga for Weightloss DVD.  I’ll say it here.  I LOVE YOGA.  I am probably doing a lot of it wrong, and I’m not incredibly flexible, but I love the way it makes me feel.  I also ended up doing 30 minutes on the Wii Fit step.  That -50 is looming in my future!
Friday = Ground breaking 5 miles outside.  I decided to take full advantage of being a Chicagoan, and run on the lakefront path.  I mapped out 5 miles from South Loop, so I ran from Jackson north to Belmont.  It was cold, and there are plenty of portions of the path that are not well lit, but by the time I got to Belmont, I felt AMAZING.  I took it at a nice slow pace, and stopped when I needed to, and I made it home about an hour later than I normally would from work anyway.  This is an incredibly motivating feeling, to be able to double my commute as exercise.  This will definitely not be the last time I do this run!
Saturday = Jingle Bell Run 5k recap!  Felt good to be back in a race again.
Sunday = I’m still in my PJs. I am about to get going to the gym for 40 minutes on the elliptical, and 3 miles on the TM. (Then an ice cream tasting of Jeni’s Ice Creams! I love you, Jeni Britton Bauer!)

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

