Half Marathon Training: Week 4

11.28-12.4 Mid-week check in.

Had a great time at home for Thanksgiving, ran a 5 mile Turkey Trot in 1:02:27.  Was very happy with that time!

I kept up with my running, and I’m working on getting back to a regular schedule.  But the universe is conspiring against me…

This has been a pretty crummy week.  Sunday night I left my iPod on the airplane.  I knew it as soon as I got to the train and headed home.  Called Southwest and they filled out a Lost & Found report, but it doesn’t sound too hopeful that I’ll get it back.  So…  no tunes!

Tuesday was spent stressing out with some family medical issues.  Times like these are when I REALLY hate living so far from home.  The day was spent in a helpless sort of panic.  Things should be ok, but it’s stressful nonetheless.  Ran at the gym, but was distracted.

Wednesday night = 3 mile run.  That’s becoming an “easy-peezy” run.  Or, theoretically it is.  Ran 1.5 miles to my turnaround, then headed back home, probably about 2 miles in, and then suddenly the sidewalk was coming up to meet me.  Must have tripped on a crack in the sidewalk.  There was someone else there, he was quite sweet and helped me up.

Things I am thankful for:  Wearing running tights.  Otherwise my legs would have been a mess.  Wearing gloves.  Otherwise my palms would have been a wreck.  Holding my waterbottle.  It broke my fall, and I think that if I didn’t have it I would have seriously injured my arm.  (I was running with THIS bottle…  now i need a new one!)

All in all, I’m just sore, achy, stressed, and emotionally drained.  I’m looking forward to the 5 mile group run this weekend, and taking the time to rest up, to heal and to breathe.

Wednesday Weigh In: -3.4

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Half Marathon Training: Week 4

  1. CB says:

    I know this was a rough week for you but I just want you to know that you are my hero. (Can you hear the song playing in the background by Bette Midler?) I think you are amazing and I am so inspired by reading your blog. The good. The bad. And everything in between. xoxo

  2. Jen says:

    Ouch! What a tough week. Glad you are okay. It’s the tough weeks like this that truly make you stronger. ((hugs))

  3. Pingback: Race Recap: Jingle Bell Run 5k « Running makes me ____________!

Leave a Reply

