Half Marathon Training: I signed up for WHAT?!

I think I’m losing my mind.  I signed up for Winter Half Marathon Training this week.  One half of one marathon.  In the Winter.  In Chicago.  What is the furthest distance you’ve traveled in running shoes, one may ask me.  And my answer is 4 miles.  4 miles at best, on my best, most motivated, strongest day of running.  So how do I triple that?  And then add another mile?

I guess I’m about to find out.  I started off training on the wrong foot.  The information I have been getting about this program has been coming from the Chicago Area Runner’s Association’s web page.  Apparently (as I found out today), their web site is incorrect and not updated very often.  So.  I signed up for a Kick Off Event on Monday evening, it was hosted at a bar, after work.  I wanted to get a run in, so my day started with 2.5 gruesome miles on the TM.  I showered at the gym, headed to work, then off to the kick off.  I was one of the first people there and everyone seems incredibly nice.  Runners are proving themselves to be good people 🙂

The kick off event actually started with a “Fun Run.”  I did not see that anywhere in the materials I used when signing up. I was not prepared for a fun run!  I was in my work clothes, and my stinky gym clothes were all balled up in my gym bag.  (And they were NOT coming back out and going on my body!)  I also asked how long the “Fun Run” was.  It’s a 3 mile run.  Right now, where I’m at, 3 miles is not fun!  I was already feeling discouraged.  I stayed until all the runners left, and got my bag with the info packet (and a free box of granola… score!).  I talked to a run leader (also turns out to be CARA managing director) who will be running with the 12 min mile group.  She seems very friendly!  So, I went home and started to read the packet.  And my heart just kept sinking.  Am I ready for this?!  I don’t think I can do THIS!

Tuesday = Strength and Stretch so I did my Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred.  It’s the best “guided” strength and conditioning I have, so I’ll stick with it.  Went to yoga at the gym in the evening.  LOVE the instructor.  Vigorous and relaxing, I worked out all the muscle groups I needed to, and we ran through the vinyasa several times so I got my planks in too.  Felt good on Tuesday.

Wednesday = 3 mile run.  6:30 am with group.  Wake up at 5:30.  It is POURING rain.  I’m not ready for this.  I start bargaining with my brain.  “Just run tomorrow…”  “You can fit it in later.”  “Go back to sleeeeep….”  But then I hear this “Did you pay $$$ to go back to bed?  NO” in my head.  And I get out the door and on the bus.  And I go to the meeting spot.  No one is there.  Not a jogger in sight.  It was so sad!  And freezing.  And raining.  So guess who pulled up her running tights like a big kid, and ran 3 miles in the rain?  THIS GIRL.  It just wasn’t pretty.  In retrospect, I’m proud, but at the time I was close to tears the whole time.  I didn’t feel ready.  I was upset that no one was there.  I was confused and intimidated.  I’m STILL confused and intimidated.  I don’t have the gear for this sort of weather yet…

I found out (from Facebook) that the web site was incorrect, and they are only doing Wednesday evening runs.  Oooops, our web site was wrong… how’d you enjoy that wet, freezing rain?!  So, from lack of communication, the group runs better be worth it or I’m really going to feel like I am wasting my money.

Today = DOR.  I need it, that Jillian Michaels continues to kick my rear!
Friday = 3 miles and I’m actually looking forward to it.
Saturday = 4 miles with the training group.

I have a birthday party to go to on Friday night, and this is one more challenge to face.  Because in light of the amount of food, wine and cake present at this party, going home early to be up for a group run at 8:00 is going to be a STRUGGLE.  I plan is: Stay OP all day tomorrow, get a good run in, and leave by 11:30pm to be home and in bed by 12:30.  Up at 7:00, out the door at 7:30 and on the running path by 8:00.

I think I can I think I can I think I can….

Originally posted 11.10.11

About pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Training for 1/2 marathon. Committed to Weight Watchers!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

