Sunday Cooking: Best Beef Stew Ever.

Sundays in autumn are made for beef stew.

Beef stew is made for a girl on a budget.

I’m not entirely sure where the original recipe for this came from, but it’s one that I wrote down on an index card ages ago, and when I can’t find it, I get anxious that it’s lost forever.  The weather has been getting cooler, and as the seasons turn I think of comfort food.  Comfort food does not often lend itself to healthy eating, but in this case, I can make an exception.  Because it is just so tasty.

Beef Stew

Last name Ever. First name Greatest.

Best Beef Stew Ever
1/2lb stew meat (original recipe calls for 2lbs.  I bought the cheapest, smallest package at the grocery.  You can certainly add more, but may affect PPs)
1 10oz can condensed cream of mushroom soup
1 10oz can french onion soup
1/2 lb carrots, chopped
1 lb red potatoes, quartered
1 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup red wine

Add soups and wine to slow cooker.  Stir together.  Add remaining ingredients and stir.  Cook on low 6-8 hours.

In the Weight Watcher’s Tracker, this adds up to 6PPs per serving.  I estimated it at 6 servings, but until it’s finished, I’m not sure how many servings there actually are!  All I know is that every time I make this recipe I am really happy, and sharing it with friends is even better.

I’m serving it with crusty bread and a side salad.

What is YOUR favorite recipe?

Leave a Reply

